Prince William County DUI Lawyer
Many people don’t realize it, but it’s entirely possible to fight a DUI charge and win. Work with a Prince William County DUI lawyer and get the defense you need.
A drunk driving conviction can seriously impact your life. You face significant financial repercussions and stand to lose both your license and your freedom. You’re also facing the stigma that comes with being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), which may cause employers not to hire you and lenders not to approve your loans.
While facing a drunk driving charge can seem overwhelming, hope is available. Contacting a Prince William County DUI lawyer with Priale & Racine, PLLC is an important first step in defending yourself and protecting your future.
DUI Charges and Possible Penalties in Virginia
The driver of any motor vehicle may be charged with a DUI: car, boat, plane, motorcycle, and so on. A person charged with drunk driving is alleged to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent at the time of the arrest. Motorists in Virginia do not have the legal option to refuse a breath test, and a refusal could result in up to one year’s jail time—even without a DUI conviction.
Listed below are DUI classifications not involving traffic accidents, along with their potential legal consequences:
- First Offense – Minimum fine of $250, one-year license revocation, possible one year in jail, ignition interlock installed for at least six months
- Second Offense – Minimum fine of $500, three-year license revocation, possible one year in jail, ignition interlock installed for at least six months
- Additional Penalty for Second Offense Within Ten Years of the First Offense – Ten-day minimum jail term
- Additional Penalty for Second Offense Within Five Years of First Offense – 20-day minimum jail term
- Third Offense – $1,000 minimum fine, license suspended indefinitely, prosecution as a class 6 felony
- Additional Penalty for Three Convictions in Ten Years – Indefinite license revocation
- Additional Penalty for Three Convictions in Five Years – Six-month minimum jail term
Employing the Best Defense for Your Drunk Driving Charge
A Prince William County DUI lawyer will examine all the evidence on which you’ve been charged and seek to challenge it. For example, you may have been charged solely on the result of a Breathalyzer test when Breathalyzer tests are known to be unreliable. By introducing reasonable doubt, that can be all it takes to convince a judge or jury to acquit you.
In order to secure a conviction, it’s up to the prosecution to prove that there’s no doubt that you were guilty of driving drunk. This is a high bar to meet, and we have substantial experience exposing the holes in prosecutor arguments.
For example, you may have an illness with symptoms that mimic intoxication. If the police officers were wearing body cameras or using a dashboard camera at the time of the arrest, we can examine all of the available footage to determine if proper procedures weren’t followed or if they even had legal cause to pull you over in the first place.
Contact a Prince William County DWI Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, you have options other than simply accepting the consequences. Contact a Prince William County DUI lawyer with Priale & Racine, PLLC and begin building your defense today. Call 703-272-3922, or use the online contact form found at the bottom of this page. We provide consultations that are free and confidential, so you don’t have to add additional worries to what you’re dealing with.